The BBC shows its insensitivity on Holocaust Remembrance Day

Why Evolution Is True

Seventy years ago today, the Allies liberated the Auschwitz/Birkenau concentration camp, and so today has been designated International Holocaust Remembrance Day by the United Nations General Assembly.

I visited those camps when I was in Cracow in September of 2013, and I am shocked to discover that I didn’t post about my visit. I suppose it’s because every time I look at my photos I get a sick feeling in my stomach. I’ll try to do a post later, but let me put up just a few photos that must stand for the eleven million exterminated in this worst of all genocides. Remember that the oft-cited figure of six million Jews represents only a bit more than half of the people murdered en masse by the Nazis: there were eleven million total, including non-Jewish Poles, gays, criminals, Communists, clerics, the mentally ill, gypsies, and so on.

If you’re ever in Cracow, Poland, by all means go to Auschwitz/Birkenau, about…

View original post 580 more words

About marksolock

I am a lawyer in Chicago with interests in pop culture and current politics.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

